Goode Unseats Mengarelli in Mayor’s Race

by Blake Herzog

Prescott City Councilman Phil Goode succeeded in his challenge to Mayor Greg Mengarelli in the City’s Aug. 3 primary election, which will also be bringing three new faces to the council.
Goode won 62% of the votes in the race, or 11,705 votes versus the two-term incumbent’s 7,116, according to unofficial results released by Yavapai County’s elections department. Goode will be sworn in after the Nov. 2 general election, along with the new council members.
With six candidates running for three open City Council seats, two won a majority of the votes cast and earned a seat in the primary: Eric Moore with 11,671 votes and Brandon Montoya with 10,832 votes. The next two finishers, Jessica Hall with 7,767 votes and Grant Quezada with 7,030, will compete for the third seat on Nov. 2. The fifth and sixth-place candidates were Steve Blair, a council incumbent, and Jim Lamerson, who sat on the council for 16 years before leaving in 2019.
Council members serve four-year terms while the mayor serves for two years, as established by the City Charter.
Proposition 453 allowing home rule by the City was approved with 66% of the vote.
In the Town of Dewey-Humboldt, Vice Mayor Karen Brooks and council members Lynn Collins and Amy Vance survived a recall attempt.


Share the Post:

Related Posts