Recognition of Excellence – Prescott Valley Chamber

by Marnie Uhl, President/CEO, Prescott Valley Chamber of Commerce

Each year the Prescott Valley Chamber of Commerce brings together people to share in a celebration of excellence. Since 1998 the Chamber has shared its annual banquet with the recognition, support and promotion of individuals, businesses and organizations that contribute to making this the best community to live in.

Originally called the Community Service Award, this program was designed to award those making a significant difference throughout the preceding year. In 2015, the name was changed to Community Excellence Awards.

Excellence was used to better reflect the dedication and commitment of those nominated. Nominees include individuals, businesses and organizations that go above and beyond each and every day.

Beginning in April, nominations are solicited from the community at large for names of those who represent the best in each category. Categories include: Citizen of the Year, Student of the Year, Teacher of the Year, Organization of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Community Improvement, Chamber Member of the Year, Business Leader of the Year and the Prescott Valley Heritage Award.

A committee of Chamber and community leaders review and determine who will receive the award. Every attempt is made to keep the announcement a surprise to the recipient. However, sometimes it is necessary to come up with a sneaky method to get them to the dinner. We are proud to say we have become very effective in our schemes and techniques.

As we celebrate our 45th year in serving the businesses and community of Prescott Valley we look at our annual Community Excellence Awards as one of our crowning achievements in being the catalyst, convener and champion of our home, our place — Prescott Valley.

Congratulations to the 2019 Community Excellence Award Recipients:

Student of the Year: Emma Steverson 

Teacher of the Year: Mary Supergan

Citizen of the Year: Scott Stebbins 

Business Leader of the Year: Jim Cabral

Prescott Valley Heritage Award: Heidi Foster

Chamber Member of the Year: The Event Spot

Norm Pariseau Volunteer of the Year: John Agan

Organization of the Year: Humboldt Education Foundation

Community Improvement: Carniceria Azteca and Boys and Girls Club Prescott Valley Expansion Project

Share the Post:

Related Posts