POPS Orchestra Season Underway; Grants Will Support Music Programs

by Ray Newton

The Prescott POPS Symphony Orchestra is attracting full houses so far in in 2109-2020 season, said Anne Babinsky, POPs board chair.

She said the first three concerts attracted record crowds, and anticipates the same for coming shows.

Future concerts are Dec. 8- “Holiday Dreams and Traditions,” and Feb. 16 -“Love and Laughter”.

Both are scheduled for 3 p.m. at the Yavapai College Performing Arts Center, 1100 E. Sheldon, and Prescott.

POPs Musical Director Joe Place announced during the Sept. 15 concert that POPS was expanding its funding program for the “Music Education and Enrichment Outreach” objective it had established. The expansion will include supporting after-school programs, lessons, school concerts, grants to schools and student scholarships.

Place announced from the stage that generosity from overall community already had resulted in $25,000 available to support the expanded mission; and that additional contributions are expected.

This past year, generous contributions from individual donors, businesses and corporations, combined with concert income, made it possible for the POPS Orchestra to give grants to five schools to support instrumental music programs.

Collectively, the grants amount to $10,000, with each recipient receiving $2,000.

The five schools that received grants were:

  • Mile High Mid-School and Granite Mountain School
  • Basis School
  • All three schools are in Prescott
  • Franklin Phonetic School
  • Bradshaw Mountain High School

Both these schools are in Prescott Valley. Grant funds are being used during the 2019-2020 academic year.

POPS board chair Anne Babinsky said, “We’re grateful to all who contribute to help support school music programs, for such support is critical in these tight school budget times.”

Babinsky thanked past school grant committee members for their solicitation and evaluation of grant applications various Quad City schools. Committee members are Jerry Jackson, Helen Kipp, LeAnne Lawhead, Linda Lee, Tara Sholle, Joan Stinstrom, Harold Viehweg, and Ray and Patty Newton, committee co-chairs.

Information about tickets and other concert information is available at www.PrescottPops.com.